Welcome to NanoDesu Translations!

I’ve put up a poll here, where I ask you to pick what light novel you’d like to see translated the most. Please keep in mind that this does NOT mean I am picking up a new project. I have plenty to do already. Just treat this as a poll “for fun.” If you don’t find the answer you want, just write it in and I’ll add it to the poll (make sure the title is formatted correctly, with capital letters where they should be, or I might have to reject your write-in answer at my discretion).

Random thought: Some smartass wrote in Oreimo. Aren’t you funny.

Random thought 2: For the person who wrote in Baka to Test, I’m pretty sure baka-tsuki has that one pretty covered.


Note: So, I just want to reiterate that this poll is not supposed to be serious. First place or second place winners have no guarantee of being translated – they are at best slightly more likely to be on my radar. If I don’t like the subject material, I wouldn’t translate it even if the fate of the world depended on it.

Those who know me best know that I stray away from action/sci-fi and gravitate towards slice of life and comedy (with a bit of drama thrown in).

For example, I’m just going to be blunt and say that I am not going to pick up Hagure Yuusha no Estetica, even though it seems like it’s going to stay in the lead. I just can’t see myself enjoying that series. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t vote for it, since this poll is just an innocent “which light novel?” poll. Don’t ascribe any higher meaning to it.

I know there are some sites in which some are urging people to vote for certain options (if you were directed to this poll through some other site, HELLO! *waves vigorously*). I don’t mind this strategy, but I just want to be clear that this is a strategy to win a game that doesn’t exist. It’s true that I haven’t really picked any future projects as of yet, but don’t overestimate the ability of this poll to influence my decision.

Of course, if you’re interested in translating any of the popular options on the poll, feel free to apply to join the team.;

Happy voting!



This is the official homepage for NanoDesu Translations. I am but one translator with a small team of talented editors, so please be patient with the often wild fluctuations in the frequency of releases. You can find out more about me and my team in the About Us section. Yoroshikuonegaishimasu.

When I say this is my “homepage,” this is probably not like any translation group homepage you’ve come across. This is because instead of having all my translation work on the same page, I create a different, self-contained site for each and every major project I work on to ensure an immersive reading experience. So, it might be more appropriate to say that this is a central hub for my projects, rather than a homepage proper.

Please use the small banners on the right side to navigate to any of my projects, or check in the “Translation Projects” tab. You can also check my history of all chapters released in the “Update History” tab, or send me a message at the Contact Me tab. You can also reach me directly via email at NanoDesuTranslations@gmail.com.

Thank you very much for reading my translations.


This entry was posted by NanoDesu.

48 thoughts on “Welcome to NanoDesu Translations!

  1. I look forward to whatever the future holds. Your translations are excellent quality, and I am sure you will put just as much effort into whatever other projects you take on!

  2. Well, I wrote in Oreimo too ^_^

    But actually, the LN I’d like to read most would be Moshidora. Or is there already a translation somewhere that I’m unaware of?

  3. Great idea, but keep in mind that baka-tsuki is currently translating the following novels: Densetsu no Yuusha no Densetsu, Kino no Tabi, Seitokai no Ichizon, Kokoro Connect, Accel World. If I had to choose i would say Hagure Yuusha no Estetica or Haiyore! Nyaruko-san.

    • I think the issue is that a lot of the projects on Baka-Tsuki are going pretty slowly, so I’m allowing for that. Seitokai no Ichizon hasn’t been updated for like a year (and has like 1/3 of one volume done), and Kokoro Connect is going pretty slowly as far as I can see.

      But more importantly, this isn’t me choosing a new project – this is just a fun poll. So while I don’t want to put stuff on the poll like baka to test which is almost COMPLETELY translated, everything else is pretty much fair game for the poll.

    • Oh, I’ve also been told by good friends who know my taste in anime very well that I would ABSOLUTELY HATE Hagure Yuusha no Estetica. Lol. Don’t know how true that is, but yeah.

      • I’ve only read up vol5, and it’s interesting, but not the kind of thing I would ever translate since it gets sometimes boring.
        Maybe summaries will do.

        About the others, I do like Tokage no Ou, Usotsuki Mii-kun to Kowareta Maa-chan (tough I don’t usually like to read this kind of novels, as Another), Ben-To (pretty much interested in what’s going on with that series (I’m expecting some romance).

  4. I would like to see Biblia Koshoten no Jikentecho to be translate the most.
    I hadn’t read it, but somebody say that it can be compare and even more real then bungaku shoujo.
    And more than 1 million copy had been sold for both first and second volume wouldn’t just for show. That’s for sure.

    About Hagure Yuusha no Estetica, i don’t know if novel is any better. But it anime.ver doesn’t have anything special at all (at least for now, i had watched 8 ep so far). A lot of useless ecchi and fan-service, just above average plot.
    I’ll read it if i have more free time, though. But Hagure Yuusha no Estetica will not be my first choice no matter what.

    Sorry if i had say anything impolite.

    • Hagure Yuusha is interesting… the first 4 vols. but it gets boring with the plot going in a repetitive cicle of: An OP MC, who hasn’t shown his full powers, and enemies that are the same or estronger then him, but you can’t say how much is the difference.

      BKnJ is a good choise.

      Also, Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei is serious stuff. I only can say “Try, and you will tell me how you did”.

  5. hii.. thnx for translating.. question tho, isnt better to translate volume 11 of ore imou now? Not because i want to read it😛 but translating that now, would give you’re site alot of more hits..
    And adding a donation box.. i know i would donate..


    John from Mars

    • Well, it doesn’t help that I haven’t read volumes 5-10. I also don’t even have a copy yet. I only have 1-9 right now.

      I’d rather not add a donation box just because my expenses are rather light and I don’t want to make any kind of money off this project. But I appreciate the thought!

  6. Just to let you know, Date A Live, Golden Time, Hidan no Aria, Kampfer, Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon, Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi, Seitokai no Ichizon and Accel World is already a project under Baka-Tsuki. Though they haven’t gone further with Kampfer since they had that project but you could join and help with that. Thought I give you a heads up before you realized you wasted your time.

    • I won’t translate stuff bakatsuki is actively translating, but a lot of those titles have been more or less abandoned – Seitokai no Ichizon, for example, hasn’t been updated in a year and a half.

      But most importantly, this isn’t a future project poll. It’s a poll for fun. So don’t read too much into the results.

      For example, I can assure everyone that I’m not translating Hagure Yuusha no Estetica, even if it gets a million votes. It’s not something I would enjoy reading (so I’ve heard), so it would be counterproductive for me to translate it.

      • Ahhh I see, well I thought it was an actual ‘list of LN that I may will translate’ kind of list. Just thought I say something incase cos the one novel caught my eye (Misumaruka Koukoku Monogatari) seems to be a really good story with some dark content I heard and would focus on that. But since you said this just for fun, me sad face =3=. Well good luck with what your translating works.

            • Yeah, Zaregoto is seriously good, it’s a shame they didn’t release all of it.
              But that doesn’t make it right to have it twice in the poll LOL

    • Hm, well to be a bit blunt, Tenchi Muyo is a pretty old series and I tend to really dislike old series (I won’t get into why – that’d take hours and hours to explain). I’ll add it to the poll but I wouldn’t hold my breath.

      • Lol you’re absolutely right, Tenchi doesn’t measure up to a lot of the newer stuff. Besides these Tenchi novels are background crap that doesn’t even feature the main cast and they’ve had pretty detailed summaries out since many years ago. So too bad for the few Tenchi canon fanbois still out there but maybe there’s a reason these novels haven’t been fully translated for so long. The new OVA series that ran a few years ago in a word sucked. This is def not something to waste Nano’s talents on. Now, Accel or Horizon on the other hand would be great to have, but they prolly fail your SF and fighting test.

          • Sorry, I just don’t remember fondly the times I was lectured by Tenchi OVA fans when I said I liked Universe better. Tenchi was OK for its time but it’s definitely dated and there’s so much better stuff out there now. The gist of my point was that those novels already have English summaries out including parts of them fully translated.

  7. Gate is (rightfully) all the rage right now. On 4chan, Spacebattles and pretty much every manga forum. The writing may be mediocre, around japanese standards, but the setting is amazing.

  8. So gate is now in the lead. Do you guys know what choice you are gonna on which novel you will translate? I would look forward in seeing Gate being translated as I enjoy the manga quite a bit. It is actually my current favorite second only to Akame ga Kiru!😀

    • Well, it’s not very clear when we will be picking up a new project. As I’ve been mentioning on the Oreimo site, life has been crazy and translations are pretty slow right now, so it would be suicide to pick up another project at present.

  9. I really hope you would translate Seitokai no Ichizon….. I’ve been searching up and down the internet for it’s translated novels but I got the idea that it would take quite a while to get translated…. So now I am joining a course to learn japanese (being an anime maniac)….:P Still would pretty much appreciate if you can get this translated..

  10. I hope that you can translate mayo chiki, is one of my favourites anime (sorry for my english) if someone wants the raws for translated them, I have all the volumes

    • I think we’ve been asked to translate Mayo Chiki before, but unfortunately, we’re so busy with our current projects that it’s unlikely we can take on any requests. But thank you for your interest.

  11. One thing I don´t get is how no one´s translated Ben-to yet. Anyone who´s come across it will agree that it´s better than most light novels and it was even the third best ranked after To Aru Majutsu no Index and Sword Art Online, but it´s not like those are easy to beat with merely nine volumes.

  12. And considering what I´ve read in these comments, your tranlations are light novels you enjoy. I can definitely assure you that you´ll love Ben-To; it´s original, with awesome action and it´s the funniest light novel I´ve read, so me and many others would be thrilled to be able to read its volumes (I´ve seen the anime but I can´t read japanese). It´s the light novel I´m most interested in, so I´d really appreciate a translation.

Leave a Reply

